Hunting and Trapping Regulations for the 2018-2019 and 2019-2020 Seasons (250-RICR-60-00-9)


250-RICR-60-00-9 ACTIVE RULE

9.1 Purpose

The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to establish hunting and trapping seasons; to set the possession and bag limits; and to regulate the manner of hunting and trapping in order to efficiently manage the wildlife resources of Rhode Island.

9.2 Authority

These Rules and Regulations are promulgated pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapters 42-17.1; 20-15 and 20-18, §§ 20-1-2; 20-1-4; 20-1-8; 20-1-12; 20-1-13; 20-2-35, 20-2-37 and 1-8-1, and in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-35, the Administrative Procedures Act.

9.3 Application

The terms and provisions of these Rules and Regulations shall be liberally constructed to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies.

9.4 Severability

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or application thereof to any person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby.

9.5 Superseded Rules and Regulations

On the effective date of these Rules and Regulations, all previous Rules and Regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of Hunting Regulations shall be superseded. However, any enforcement action taken by, or application submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules and Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time the enforcement action was taken, or application filed.

9.6 Definitions

A. For the purposes of these regulations, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

1. “Antlerless deer” means deer having no antlers or antlers less than three (3) inches in length.

2. “Archery equipment” means long bow, re-curve bow, compound bow or crossbow.

3. “Archery proficiency testing” means demonstration of skill with Archery equipment as prescribed by the Division of Fish and Wildlife. Valid for two (2) years.

4. “Bearded turkey” means a wild turkey that carries a visible beard, i.e., a tuft of stiff filament-like feathers projecting outward and downward from the center of the chest.

5. “Box trap” means any trigger operated device intended to restrain an animal by confinement in box or cage.

6. “Conibear-type trap” means “conibear” model traps and similar body-gripping traps and devices, whether or not enclosed in or comprising part of a box, tube or other enclosing device.

7. “Crossbow” means a bow and string that launches an arrow, mounted upon a stock, with a trigger unit that holds the string and limbs under tension until released.

8. “Daily bag limit” means the maximum number of game of a single species or combination (aggregate) of species permitted to be taken by one person in any one day during the open season.

9. “Daylight fluorescent orange” means the color orange having a dominant wave length between 595 and 606 nanometers, an excitation purity not less than 85 percent, and a lamination factor not less than 40 percent.

10. “Deer” means Virginia white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus) and any other free ranging deer encountered in the natural environment.

11. “Deer decoy” means a device that replicates the body and form of a deer and may be used for the purpose of attracting deer during hunting.

12. “Driving deer” or “cooperative drive” means to pursue, drive, chase, or otherwise frighten or cause a deer to move in a direction toward a person or persons known to be waiting for deer.

13. “Feeding” or “baiting” means the act of using, placing, giving, exposing, depositing, distributing, or scattering any material, or any act to maintain the availability of such material, that attracts wildlife to feed on such material.

14. "Field possession limit" means the maximum number of game of a single species or combination of species permitted to be possessed by one person while in the field, in one's vehicle, boat, trailer or other means of transportation when traveling between the field and one's personal abode. This shall be equal to the daily bag or season limit where no daily bag limit is indicated.

15. “Foothold” means a trap equivalent to a leg-hold trap, as described in R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-16-8, including those foothold traps with padded jaws.

16. “Junior hunter" means any person 12-14 years of age who possesses a hunter safety education certificate. Junior hunters may only hunt in the immediate company of an adult, 21 years of age or older, who possesses a current R.I. hunting license.

17. “Paraplegic” means an individual afflicted with paralysis of the lower half of the body with involvement of both legs.

18. "Personal abode" means one's principal or ordinary home or dwelling place, as distinguished from one's temporary or transient place of abode or dwelling such as a hunting club, or any club house, cabin, tent or trailer house used as a hunting club, or any hotel, motel or rooming house used during a hunting, pleasure or business trip.

19. “Possess" or "Possession” means to exercise dominion or control over any wild animal commencing at the time at which a decision is made not to return the wild animal to the immediate vicinity from which it was taken and lasting up until its ultimate disposition. The decision to possess or return the animal must be made at the first practical opportunity.

20. “Possession limit” means the maximum number of game of a single species or combination of species permitted to be possessed by one person at one time.

21. “Public reservations” means any property under the care, control or custody of the Department of Environmental Management.

22. “Season bag limit” means the maximum number of game of a single species permitted to be taken by one person over the duration of the open season.

23. “Species specific traps” means traps characterized by all of the following: triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within housing; triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a single opening when set; the access opening does not exceed two (2) inches in diameter; the triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force; has a swivel mounted anchoring system.

24. “Tidal waters” means waters of the State extending from mean high water to the seaward limit of three (3) miles.

25. “Translocation” means the transport and release of live wild animals from one location to another.

26. “Written permission” means annual written permission of the owner of the land for any current deer season.

9.7 Deer

A. A deer permit must be obtained prior to hunting for each individual deer taken in accordance with the bag limits for each season type, statewide.

B. Deer Management Zones are defined to recognize and achieve harvest and management strategies for deer in Rhode Island as follows:

1. Zone 1 shall consist of the following towns:

a. Barrington; Bristol; Central Falls; Charlestown; Cranston; Cumberland; East Greenwich; East Providence; Jamestown; Johnston; Lincoln; Middletown; Narragansett; Newport; North Kingstown; North Providence; North Smithfield; Pawtucket; Providence; Smithfield; South Kingstown; Warren; Warwick; West Warwick; Westerly; and Woonsocket.

2. Zone 2 shall consist of the following towns:

a. Burrillville; Coventry; Exeter; Foster; Glocester; Hopkinton; Little Compton; Portsmouth (excluding Prudence and Patience Islands); Richmond; Scituate; Tiverton; and West Greenwich.

3. Zone 3 shall consist of:

a. Patience and Prudence Islands

4. Zone 4 shall consist of:

a. New Shoreham (Block Island)

C. Open Season Zones 1 and 2 (all dates inclusive)

1. Archery:

a. Zone 1: September 15 to January 31.

b. Zone 2: October 1 to January 31.

2. Muzzleloader:

a. Zones 1 and 2: First Saturday in November through the Sunday after Thanksgiving Day.

b. Zones 1 and 2: December 26 to January 2.

(1) Hunting on private land only.

(2) Only antlerless deer may be taken.

3. Shotgun:

a. Zone 1: First Saturday in December extending sixteen (16) days inclusive of the first Saturday.

b. Zone 2: First Saturday in December extending nine (9) days, inclusive of the first Saturday.

c. Zones 1 and 2: December 26 to January 2.

(1) Hunting on private land only.

(2) Only antlerless deer may be taken.

D. Open Season Zone 3 (all dates inclusive):

1. Archery: November 1 to January 31.

2. Paraplegic hunter season: Last consecutive Tuesday through Friday, inclusive, in October.

E. Open Season Zone 4:

1. 2018 - 2019 Open Season

a. Archery: October 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 29, 30, 31.

b. Archery and Muzzleloader: November 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16.

c. Archery, Muzzleloader and Shotgun:

(1) November 19, 20, 26, 27, 29, 30.

(2) December 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20, 21.

(3) January 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 22, 23, 24, 25, 28, 29, 30, 31.

(4) February 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 19, 20, 21, 22.

2. 2019 - 2020 Open Season

a. Archery: October 15, 16, 17, 18, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 28, 29, 30, 31.

b. Archery and Muzzleloader: November 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 15.

c. Archery, Muzzleloader and Shotgun:

(1) November 18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26.

(2) December 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23.

(3) January 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31.

(4) February 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, 25.

F. Legal shooting hours for hunting deer are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.

G. Annual written permission is required to hunt deer on privately owned land (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-15-1(4)). Such written permission must be carried at all times while deer hunting and failure to have such written permission is prima-facie evidence of not having written permission to hunt such land. Written permission must be shown to any authorized person upon demand, and must be presented when checking the deer.

H. Tagging Requirements: All deer harvested must be conspicuously tagged by the hunter immediately after killing or taking. Immediately upon killing or taking, the hunter must notch the month, day and hour of kill on the deer tag and affix the tag to the animal before moving the carcass for field dressing or removal from the field. After removal from the field, the harvest must be reported within 24 hours to the DEM and the notched tag with confirmation number must remain attached to the carcass until the carcass is prepared for consumption or taxidermy.

I. Reporting Requirements: All deer harvested must be reported to the DEM within 24 hours by filing a harvest report as prescribed by the DEM or be checked by an Environmental Police Officer (EPO). A confirmation number will be issued and must be recorded on the notched tag. The notched tag with confirmation number must remain attached to the carcass until prepared for consumption or taxidermy.

1. During the first four (4) days of the Muzzleloader deer season, all deer harvested statewide, by any method, must be brought to a State Operated Biological Checking Station to be physically weighed, measured and inspected with the exception of deer harvested on Patience Island, Prudence Island, and Block Island.

J. The Division of Fish and Wildlife retains the right to sample any and all tissues for population and disease management.

K. Resident All Outdoors Deer Permit Package: Rhode Island Resident hunters may purchase one (1) resident All Outdoors Deer Permit Package to take up to seven (7) deer during the established deer seasons in Zones 1 and 2.

1. A limit of 350 permit packages will be sold on a first come first serve basis.

2. The All Outdoors Deer Permit Package consists of two (2) antlered deer permits and five (5) antlerless deer permits that may be used in any combination during the open deer seasons in Zones 1 and 2 in accordance with the zone bag limits.

L. Deer decoys may be used on private lands in Zone 1 between September 15 and October 31 and in Zone 2 between October 1 and October 31 while archery hunting only. However, deer decoys may be used throughout the extent of the open archery season on private lands in towns where hunting with a firearm is prohibited but use of archery equipment is permitted. When transporting deer decoys for the purpose of hunting, persons must wear five hundred (500) square inches of daylight fluorescent orange visible from all sides as is currently required for shotgun deer hunting.

M. Tree stands may not be installed on state-owned property prior to August 15th and must be removed prior to February 15th annually.

9.7.1 Season Bag limit

A. No hunter shall take more than two (2) antlered deer in total during all deer seasons statewide, except only one (1) of the antlered deer may be taken in Zone 3.

B. Antlerless deer season bag limit is set by Deer Management Zone.

1. Zone 1 (Private and State Land): Three (3) antlerless deer.

2. Zone 2 (Private and State Land): Two (2) antlerless deer.

3. Zone 3 (Private and State Land): Two (2) antlerless deer.

4. Zone 4 (Private and State Land ): Unlimited, except as provided in § 9.7.7(B) of this Part.

9.7.2 Prohibited Activities

A. Hunting, pursuing, or molesting deer in tidal waters, or while deer are swimming in any waters of the state is prohibited.

B. The construction and/or use of permanent tree stands, or the use of nails, spikes, bolts, or climbing devices which may damage trees, is prohibited on state property or on private property without the permission of the landowner.

C. The use of electronic calls for hunting deer is prohibited at all times.

D. Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people is prohibited.

E. Possession of more than one firearm or archery implement in the field per individual hunter, while hunting deer is prohibited.

F. During the period September 15 through the last day of February (statewide and islands), casting rays of artificial lights at any time, on any highway or roadway, whether public or private or on any field, woodland, residential property or forest, for the purpose of illuminating any wild animal or wild bird is prohibited.

G. The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or night vision equipment while hunting is prohibited.

H. The use or possession of deer scents/lures that contain natural cervid (including deer, moose, elk) urine, gland oil, feces, tissue, blood or any other bodily fluids while taking, attempting to take, attracting, or scouting wildlife is prohibited.

9.7.3 Archery Season

A. Archers may use a long bow, re-curve bow, compound bow or crossbow for hunting deer.

1. Long bow, re-curve bow and compound bow must be set at not less than forty (40) pounds for archers using fixed blade broadheads, and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using mechanical broadheads.

a. Special archery adaptive aids for use with vertically held bows may be used by all hunters without a special permit.

b. Licensed deer hunters may carry one (1) blunt or judo tipped arrow to hunt the open portion of the small game season during the archery deer season.

2. Crossbows must be set at not less than one hundred twenty-five (125) pounds minimum draw weight. The trigger unit must have a working safety.

a. One (1) field point arrow may be carried in the quiver for the safe discharge of the crossbow; the field point arrow must be made distinguishable from broadhead tipped arrows by a color difference.

b. Licensed deer hunters may carry one (1) blunt or judo tipped arrow to hunt small game mammals during the open portion of the small game season during the archery deer season; no birds may be taken with a crossbow and this arrow must be made distinguishable from broadhead tipped arrows and the discharge arrow.

B. Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) metal cutting edges are allowed. All broadheads must be seven eighths (7/8) of an inch or greater at the widest point, including mechanical (i.e. expandable) broadheads measured in the “open” position.

C. All hunters must have taken and successfully completed a bow hunter education course to hunt with archery equipment including crossbow.

9.7.4 Muzzleloader Season

A. Firearms for muzzleloader deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larger using percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using percussion caps, rifle, or shotshell primers. Only single barrel or double barrel firearms that must be loaded from the muzzle are permitted.

B. Ammunition for muzzleloader deer season is limited to a single projectile, including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles. Sabot rounds for muzzleloader firearms are permitted using lead, jacketed or solid copper bullets according to manufacturer’s specifications. Powder is limited to manufacturers’ specifications. Telescopic sights are permitted. Possession of modern shotgun shotshells while hunting is prohibited. A muzzleloader is considered unloaded when the percussion cap, primer or pan powder is removed.

9.7.5 Shotgun Season

A. No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot or attempt to shoot any deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than five (5) shells, unless it is plugged with one-piece filler, which is incapable of removal without disassembling the gun.

B. Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season is limited to a single lead or alloy projectile, including rifled slugs or sabot round. Buckshot is prohibited at all times.

C. Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed.

D. Muzzleloader firearms will be permitted during the shotgun season provided hunters possess a current shotgun deer permit and comply with muzzleloader restrictions. Hunters taking a deer must tag the deer with the shotgun deer tag immediately after taking. All shotgun deer season fluorescent orange requirements will be enforced.

9.7.6 Patience and Prudence Islands (Zone 3)

A. The only legal method of deer hunting on Patience and Prudence Islands is by archery, including crossbows. All other archery regulations apply. Exemption: hunters complying with section for paraplegic and double amputees may use firearms as provided in § 9.8(B)(3) of this Part.

B. While archery deer hunting, no possession of firearms is permitted, except for those licensed to participate during the special paraplegic hunter deer season.

C. Archery deer hunting will be permitted on the Heritage Property, December 1 - December 15.

D. Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters hunting deer on Patience and Prudence Islands, either private or state-owned lands. The proficiency card is valid for two (2) years from the date of issue and must be carried while hunting.

E. Written permission of the private landowner is required and must be countersigned by the Portsmouth Chief of Police or his/her representative on Prudence Island.

9.7.7 Block Island (Zone 4)

A. State lands (Black Rock / Rodman Hollow) hunting by special permit only, selected by lottery as prescribed by the DEM.

1. Hunting log required. Hunters must complete a hunting log as prescribed by the DEM to be eligible for the next season's permit.

B. A Block Island archery, muzzleloader or shotgun deer permit is required to hunt deer on Block Island. A hunter may purchase up to ten (10) Block Island deer permits. After checking as required, a hunter may purchase additional Block Island archery, muzzleloader or shotgun deer permits to take additional deer on Block Island. Hunters may not possess more than ten (10) Deer Permits at one time. (Eight (8) antlerless and two (2) antlered)

C. Private landowner permission, counter-signed by the New Shoreham Chief of Police, is required for all hunting. Private landowners may give permission for archery, shotgun, or muzzleloader hunting on their property. Permission will be tracked by the New Shoreham Police Department.

D. Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or sabot round. Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauges are allowed. Buckshot is prohibited.

E. Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters that are hunting deer on Block Island. The proficiency card is valid for two (2) years from the date of issue. The proficiency card must be carried while hunting.

F. All other deer season regulations apply. Equipment permitted for archery season includes crossbows and adaptive aids as described.

G. All deer hunters must wear five hundred (500) square inches of daylight fluorescent orange, except archery hunters during the archery only portion of the season are exempt from this requirement.

9.8 Special Deer Seasons

A. Youth Deer Hunting Opportunities:

1. Deer hunting is permitted during the special Youth Archery and Muzzleloader Hunting Weekends for those hunters 12 - 15 years of age.

2. Youth hunters may use antlered or antlerless deer permits for the respective season, as provided.

3. Junior hunters (age 12 - 14) as defined in § 9.6 of this Part, in possession of a valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting License must be accompanied by at least one (1) qualified license adult, age 21 years or older, who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting license.

4. An adult may accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time.

5. The accompanying adult is prohibited from carrying a firearm or archery equipment and hunting deer.

6. Youth hunters age 15 do not have to hunt in the immediate company of a licensed adult.

7. Youth Archery Hunting Weekends:

a. Zone 1: The full weekend (Saturday / Sunday) prior to the September 15 opening day of the archery season.

b. Zone 2: The full weekend (Saturday / Sunday) prior to the October 1 opening day of the archery season.

c. Zone 3: The last full weekend (Saturday / Sunday) in October.

8. Youth Muzzleloader Hunting Weekend (Zones 1 and 2): The last full weekend in October.

B. Patience and Prudence Islands (Zone 3) Special Deer Season for Disabled Hunters. The taking of deer will be limited to paraplegic and double amputee hunters only.

1. Special Permit Required.

2. None of the hunter's assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry loaded firearms at any time. No license is required of the assistants.

3. Ammunition is limited to a single lead or alloy projectile, rifled slug or sabot rounds in 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only. Buckshot is prohibited. Hunters may use muzzleloader firearms on Prudence Island.

9.9 Cooperative Hunting Programs

9.9.1 Northwest Cooperative

A. Permit required. Permit serves as written permission for hunting this private land during the open deer and turkey seasons.

1. Permits are available after August 15 as prescribed by the DEM.

2. Permits must be carried in addition to individual deer and turkey permits.

9.9.2 The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Deer Hunting Cooperatives

A. No vehicles of any kind are allowed on the property, except in designated parking areas.

B. The construction or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited. The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited. Climbing tree stands are permitted.

1. Tree stands shall not be installed prior to August 15th and must be removed by February 15th annually.

C. No special permits required.

D. No hunting for any other species of wildlife is permitted.

E. Francis Carter Preserve, Queens River Preserve, King Preserve, Canonchet Preserve, Cuttyhunk Brook Preserve South (area south of Stony Lane), and Pocasset Ridge Conservation Area

1. Archery hunting only for deer.

2. No firearms are allowed on these properties at any time.

F. Cuttyhunk Brook Preserve North (area north of Stony Lane) and Grass Pond Preserve (TNC property only)

1. Deer hunting only with archery, muzzleloader and shotgun..

G. How-Davey Preserve (access via Grills Preserve, Bradford Road, Hopkinton)

1. Deer hunting only with archery or muzzleloader.

2. No firearms other than muzzleloaders are allowed on the property at any time.

9.9.3 Beavertail Cooperative

A. Archery hunting only for deer from November 1 to January 31, no hunting on weekends prior to December 31.

B. No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.

C. No firearms are allowed on the property at any time.

D. Archery proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area. The proficiency card must be carried while hunting.

E. A Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area Permit is required and must be carried while hunting. Hunters must return their permit card regardless of activity or success by February 15 to be eligible for next season.

F. Countersigned permission of the Jamestown Chief of Police or his/her designee is required.

G. Reservations are required to hunt. Hunters may reserve five (5) slots per week, no more than twenty (20) days in advance. Unused slots must be cancelled. Hunters meeting the season bag limit or those with reservations that cannot hunt must cancel any reserved slots that will not be used.

9.9.4 Grills Preserve Cooperative

A. Hunting is allowed for deer and wild turkey at the Grills Preserve (Westerly Land Trust property) located west of Bowling Lane and Route 91 in Bradford and the Grills Preserve II (Hopkinton Land Trust property) located east of Route 91 in Hopkinton.

1. Deer hunting with archery or muzzleloader only.

2. Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with Rules and Regulations for the established turkey seasons.

B. No hunting for any other species of wildlife is permitted.

C. No special permit is required.

9.9.5 Burlingame State Park North Camp Hunting Area - North Camp Portion

A. Defined as the area bounded by Poquiant Brook, Watchaug Pond, Buckeye Brook Road and Kings Factory Road.

B. No permit required.

C. Hunting for deer and wild turkey only. All other deer and turkey hunting regulations apply.

9.10 Migratory Game Birds

A. Possession limit of migratory birds is three (3) times the daily bag limit unless otherwise stated.

1. The field possession limit shall be equal to the daily bag limit.

B. Mourning dove (Zenaida macroura) - The open season for mourning dove is statewide.

1. Dates:

a. First segment is the second Saturday in September extending thirty (30) days, inclusive of the Saturday opener.

b. Second segment is the third Saturday in October extending forty-four (44) days, inclusive of the Saturday opener.

c. Third segment is the second Saturday in December extending sixteen (16) days, inclusive of the Saturday opener.

2. Shooting hours:

a. First segment: noon to sunset.

b. Second and third segments: sunrise to sunset.

3. Daily bag limit is fifteen (15).

C. Rail - The open season for rail is:

1. September 1 to November 9.

2. Daily bag limit is:

a. King rail (Rallus elegans) & clapper rail (Rallus creiptans) - one (1), singly.

b. Sora (Porzana carolina) & Virginia rail (Rallus limicola) - three (3), singly.

3. Shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset.

D. Snipe (Gallinago delicata) - The open season for snipe is:

1. September 1 to November 9.

2. Daily bag limit is five (5).

3. Shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset.

E. Woodcock (Scolopax minor) - The open season for woodcock is:

1. The third Saturday in October extending forty-five (45) days, inclusive of the Saturday opener.

2. Daily bag limit is three (3).

3. Shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset.

F. Crow (Corvus ossifragus; Corvus brachyrhynchos): The open season for crow is:

1. The second Friday in August extending fifty-two (52) days, inclusive of the Friday opener, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays only.

2. The third Saturday in October extending fifty-two (52) days, inclusive of the Saturday opener.

3. The third Friday in December extending one hundred seven (107) days, inclusive of the Friday opener, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays only.

4. Shooting hours for crow are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.

5. The season on Prudence Island is November 1 to November 30 inclusive, except for North Prudence where the season is January 1 to January 31 Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only. South Prudence and Patience Island are closed to crow hunting.

6. No daily bag or possession limit.

G. Archery Equipment:

1. All hunters using archery equipment to take migratory game birds must have taken and successfully completed a bow hunter education course. Crossbows are prohibited for taking of game birds. See R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-14-7(d).

9.11 Waterfowl

A. Possession limit for waterfowl is three (3) times the daily bag limit unless otherwise stated.

1. The field possession limit shall be equal to the daily bag limit.

B. Canada Goose:

1. Special September Season:

a. September 1 - 30.

b. Daily bag limit is fifteen (15).

c. Shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset for September Canada goose hunting only.

2. Regular Season:

a. The Saturday preceding Thanksgiving through the Sunday following Thanksgiving and the first Saturday in December extending fifty-one (51) days, inclusive of the first Saturday.

b. Daily bag limit is two (2).

c. Special permits and reservations required for South Shore Management Area.

3. Late Season:

a. The last Saturday in January extending fifteen (15) days, inclusive of the Saturday opening day.

b. Daily bag limit is five (5).

c. Limited to Providence, Bristol and Kent Counties and portions of Washington County as described in § 9.11(B)(3)(d) of this Part. A map depicting the area open to hunting is available on the Division of Fish and Wildlife’s website.

d. The area open to hunting during the late season shall be those areas north and west of the line described below:

(1) Rt. 95 at the RI / CT Line, north to Exit 3, Rt. 138 in Richmond.

(2) East along Rt. 138 to Glen Rock Rd., Richmond.

(3) North along Glen Rock Rd. to Mail Rd., Exeter.

(4) East along Mail Rd. to Rt. 2/South Country Trail., Exeter.

(5) North along Rt. 2/South County Trail to Exeter Rd.

(6) East along Exeter Rd. to the intersection of Indian Corner Rd.

(7) East to the merger of Indian Corner Rd. and West Allenton Rd.

(8) East to the intersection of West Allenton Rd. and Rt. 4.

(9) South along Rt. 4 to the intersection of Rt. 4/Rt.1 (Tower Hill Rd.)

(10) South along Rt. 1/Tower Hill Rd. to the intersection of Rt. 138.

(11) East along Rt. 138 to the base of the Jamestown Bridge.

(12) Extending north/northeast along the Washington/Newport county line.

(13) Extending east, 1,000 feet north of the northerly most point of Jamestown to a point 1,000 feet offshore of the Melville Boat Launch, Portsmouth.

(14) North following a line 1,000 feet offshore of Portsmouth’s western shoreline to the Mount Hope Bridge.

(15) Extending east/northeast across Mt. Hope Bay from the bridge to the RI/MA border.

e. All areas south and east of the demarcation line are closed to hunting during the February Late Season.

C. Snow Goose (Including blue goose)

1. The final day of the Regular Canada goose Season in January and the one hundred and seven (107) days preceding the final day, inclusive of the final day.

2. Daily bag limit is twenty-five (25). The possession limit is unlimited.

D. Sea Ducks:

1. Thanksgiving Day extending sixty (60) days, inclusive of Thanksgiving Day. Except for the periods of the regular duck season (§ 9.11(E)(1) of this Part) following the sea duck opener on Thanksgiving Day, sea ducks may be taken only in the Special Sea Duck Hunting Areas. These areas are seaward of the first upstream bridge, which includes Washington Bridge in the Seekonk River; Mt. Hope Bridge in Mt. Hope Bay; and Sakonnet Bridge in the Sakonnet River. Sea ducks taken in areas outside of Special Sea Duck Hunting Areas during the periods of the regular duck season following the sea duck opener on Thanksgiving Day will be considered as part of the regular daily six (6) bird bag limit. Sea ducks may not be taken during the first segment, as well as the first day of the second segment of the regular duck season (Friday preceding the second Saturday in October through the Monday following and the Wednesday preceding Thanksgiving Day).

2. The daily bag limit is five (5).

a. Only four (4) of which may be scoters, eiders, or long-tailed ducks.

E. Ducks, Coots, Mergansers

1. The season for ducks, coots, and mergansers shall be: The Friday preceding the second Saturday in October through the Monday following, for a total of four (4) days inclusive of the Friday opener. The Wednesday preceding Thanksgiving Day through the Sunday following Thanksgiving Day, for a total of five (5) days, inclusive of the Wednesday opener. The first Saturday in December extending fifty-one (51) days inclusive of the Saturday opener.

2. Ducks - The daily bag limit is six (6);

a. Including no more than four (4) mallards of which two (2) may be hen mallards, three (3) wood ducks, two (2) redheads, two (2) black ducks, two (2) pintails, two (2) canvasbacks, and two (2) scaup. The possession limit is three (3) times the daily bag limit.

3. Coots - The daily bag limit is fifteen (15).

4. Mergansers - The daily bag limit is five (5);

a. Only two (2) of which may be a hooded merganser.

b. Five (5) mergansers may be taken in addition to the regular duck bag of six (6) ducks.

5. Harlequin Ducks - The season is closed.

F. Brant - The season for brant shall be:

1. Thanksgiving Day extending sixty (60) days, inclusive of Thanksgiving Day.

2. The daily bag limit is two (2).

G. Swans - The season is closed.

H. Closed Areas

1. Providence, East Providence, Pawtucket - That portion of the Seekonk River north of the railroad bridge to a line across the Seekonk River running between the intersection of Gulf Road and River Drive (Providence side) to the southerly abutment of the railroad bridge at the outlet of Omega Pond (East Providence side), shall be closed to waterfowl hunting. The discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunting on the Seekonk River is restricted to discharge toward open water (seaward).

2. Warwick - Brush Neck Cove, so-called, in its entirety. Mill Cove, so-called, in its entirety, including the beachfront. Buttonwoods Cove, so-called, in its entirety.

3. North Kingstown - Mill Cove, Wickford, so called, in its entirety. Fishing Cove, Wickford, area west of a line to be determined bisecting Cornelius Island. All discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunting is restricted to discharge in an easterly direction from the above line. The Division of Fish and Wildlife will establish the line of demarcation.

4. Charlestown - Watchaug Pond and Poquiant Brook, or hunting within 100 yards upland of the shore or bank of same.

5. Tiverton - That unnamed estuary in Tiverton, north of Seapowet Avenue and east of Jack's Island, bounded on the west, south, and east shore by the Audubon Society of Rhode Island Emile Ruecker Wildlife Refuge, and as posted by Audubon Society of Rhode Island and Department of Environmental Management signs. The affected area includes the inlet of this estuary and marshland on the north side of this outlet.

6. Middletown - Sachuest Point (NWR) shoreline below mean high water mean low water surrounding the National Wildlife Refuge property is closed to all hunting. No hunting along shoreline.

7. Lincoln/Central Falls - Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-47-49.1, discharge of a firearm within the Blackstone Valley Flood Plains or Marshes, also known as “Valley Marshes” is prohibited.

I. Additional Restrictions

1. Barrington - The Barrington River between Central Bridge at Massasoit Avenue and Barrington Bridge #123 at County Road is closed to hunting, except for that section on the river east of Puritan Avenue (41.745873° N, -71.309876° W) and west of the point southwest of Seabrook Court (41.744189° N, -71.306622° W). Hunting shall be restricted to the water areas below the vegetation line. Discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunting is restricted to discharge toward open water (seaward).

2. Bristol - Walker Island - discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunting is restricted to discharge toward open waters (seaward).

3. East Providence - Check local ordinances for restrictions. The discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunting is restricted to discharge toward open water (seaward).

4. Warwick - Rock Island and its adjacent groin extending northward off Narragansett Parkway. The discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunting is restricted to discharge toward open water (seaward).

5. Cranston - Washouset Point (Pawtuxet Cove) north to Fields Point including Stillhouse Cove, the discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunting is restricted to discharge towards open water (seaward). No hunting within five hundred (500) feet of occupied buildings (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-13-7) from the shoreline or from a watercraft.

6. Little Compton - All waterfowl hunters must have the following to hunt the Simmons Mill Pond only in the Simmons Mill Management Area:

a. Waterfowl decoys;

b. Retrieving breed of hunting dog, and/or a boat without motor, or canoe without motor.

7. North Kingstown - Waterfowl hunting on Belleville Pond is restricted to the northwest segment of the large pond as designated by DEM signs. The discharge of firearms is restricted toward open waters. Waterfowl hunting is permitted after November 15 by Town Ordinance. Firearms must remain cased until individual reaches hunting area. (Blind or boat).

J. Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days - The last full weekend (Saturday / Sunday) in October.

1. Youth hunters must be 12 - 15 years of age.

2. Youth hunters may take ducks, sea ducks and geese following daily bag and possession limits for the regular seasons.

3. All youth hunters shall hunt only in the immediate company of a qualified, licensed adult, 21 years of age or old on Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days.

4. The accompanying adult(s) and all adults are prohibited from hunting on Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days.

5. All youth hunters and those adults accompanying youth hunters must have current Rhode Island hunting licenses and state HIP permits.

6. The accompanying adult must also possess a valid Rhode Island State Waterfowl Stamp and Federal Duck Stamp.

K. Tagging: No person shall give, put or leave any migratory game birds at any place or in the custody of another person unless the birds are tagged by the hunter.

1. Tags must include all of the following information:

a. The hunter’s signature

b. The hunter’s address

c. The total number of birds involved, by species

d. The dates such birds were killed.

2. No person or business shall receive or have in custody any migratory game bird belonging to another unless such birds are properly tagged.

L. Non-toxic Shot Requirements

1. No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot or attempt to take waterfowl, rails, or snipe within the State of Rhode Island, including associated jurisdictional tidal waters which extend from mean high water to the seaward limit of three (3) miles, while possessing shells loaded with any shot other than non-toxic shot (e.g., steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, and tungsten-nickel-iron-shot) and other shot as approved by United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS).

2. All shot larger than BB is prohibited; including duplex loads containing shot larger than BB.

3. Tin shot is prohibited.

M. Allowed methods of taking and prohibited methods of taking migratory birds and waterfowl, are the same as set forth in the Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918 16 U.S.C. §§ 703-712, as amended, made under the provisions of an Act of Congress relating to migratory birds and waterfowl.

N. A Harvest Information Program (HIP) Permit is required for hunting all migratory birds. HIP permits are available through the online licensing and permitting system.

O. In addition, all hunters except youths ages 12 - 15 must purchase a Federal Duck Stamp and Rhode Island State Waterfowl Stamp to hunt waterfowl.

P. Shooting Hours - Shooting hours for all waterfowl species are 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset daily, unless otherwise specified.

Q. Archery Equipment

1. All hunters using archery equipment to take migratory game birds must have taken and successfully completed a bow hunter education course. Crossbows are prohibited for taking of game birds. See R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-14-7(d).

9.12 Small Game and Upland Game Birds

A. Legal shooting hours for game species in this section will be sunrise to sunset, except coyote, and raccoon, as otherwise provided for. On Opening Day, legal shooting hours will be 7:00 AM to sunset except for raccoon which may be hunted at night.

B. Red fox (Vulpes vulpes), gray fox (Urocyon cinereoargenteus), gray squirrel (Sciurus carolinensis), and cottontail rabbit (Sylvilagus spp.) seasons:

1. Third Saturday in October until the last day of February.

2. The daily bag limit for cottontail rabbit is three (3).

3. The daily bag limit for gray squirrel is five (5).

4. The daily bag limit for fox is unlimited.

5. Prudence Island: November 1 to 30, except that on North Prudence the season is January 1 to 31. Patience Island and South Prudence are closed to small game hunting, except for coyote as provided in § 9.12.J of this Part.

C. Bobwhite quail (Colinus virginianus), ruffed grouse (Bonasas umbellus) and ring-necked pheasant (Phasianus colchicus) seasons:

1. Bobwhite quail: Third Saturday in October until the last day in February.

2. Ring-necked pheasant: Third Saturday in October until the last day in February.

3. Youth Pheasant Weekend: The second full weekend (Saturday / Sunday) in October.

4. Ruffed grouse: The season is closed.

5. The daily bag limit for ring-necked pheasant is two (2).

6. The daily bag limit for bobwhite quail is three (3).

7. Game Bird Permit: Hunters are required to purchase a Game Bird Permit in order to hunt and take bobwhite quail and ring-necked pheasant. . The Game Bird Permit is available through the online licensing and permitting system.

8. Prudence Island: November 1 to 30, except that on North Prudence the season is January 1 to 31. Patience Island and South Prudence are closed to upland game bird hunting.

a. North Prudence is defined as the area located north of the state gate at the northern terminus of Neck Farm Road.

b. South Prudence is defined as all state land located south of the state gate at the northern terminus of Neck Farm Road.

9. New Shoreham (Block Island):

a. 2018-2019 Open season for ring-necked pheasants: November 21 and 28, December 12 and 19, and January 2, 2019.

b. 2019-2020 Open season for ring-necked pheasants: November 20 and 27, December 11 and 18, and January 8, 2020.

c. The daily bag limit is two (2) male pheasants on New Shoreham.

d. No person shall take pheasant on Block Island while possessing shells loaded with any shot other than steel shot, or other legally approved non-toxic shot as described in § 9.11(L) of this Part.

D. Youth Pheasant Hunting Weekend

1. Pheasant hunting is permitted during the special Youth Pheasant Hunting Weekend for those hunters 12 - 15 years of age.

2. All hunters must possess a game bird permit.

3. Junior hunters (ages 12 - 14) as defined in § 9.6 of this Part, in possession of a valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting License must be accompanied by at least one (1) qualified adult, age 21 years or older, who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting license.

4. An adult may accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time.

5. The accompanying adult is prohibited from carrying a firearm and hunting pheasant.

6. Youth hunters age 15 do not have to hunt in the immediate company of a licensed adult.

7. Hunting will only be permitted at the Great Swamp Management Area in West Kingston, Durfee Hill Management Area in Glocester, and Eight Rod Farm Management Area in Tiverton.

8. Bag limit is (2) two pheasants per day.

E. No person or club shall possess, release, or hunt , propagated pheasant without having a valid propagated game permit in possession.

1. Permits are available from the RI DEM Office of Boat Registration and Licensing, Room 360, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908. Such permit shall be issued upon a demonstration that the applicant has met each of the following:

a. Payment of five dollars ($5.00) permit fee

b. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club owning a single body of land consisting of twenty-five (25) or more acres at the time of the application or application of renewal (Hereinafter referred to as the “site”).

c. Each permittee must keep an accurate record of all pheasants held by it; how, when, and where acquired; how many released and when released; and how many taken on the site. Permittee must provide this information to the Department within twenty-four (24) hours of the receipt of a request for such records from a Department staff member or no later than March 15th following the closure of the season.

d. Each permittee is authorized to release and harvest pheasants upon its site during the pheasant hunting season provided above for the taking on the site by club members and their guests provided the following restrictions are observed. Pheasants may only be taken by hunters with a valid Rhode Island hunting license. Hunters are not required to have a Game Bird Permit; however, hunters must have a written receipt or other documentation as prescribed by DEM that bears the name of the club, the name of the person taking, the date and time birds were taken, and the number of birds taken from the site. This receipt must remain with the birds or carcasses until prepared for taxidermy or consumption.

e. Hunters may not exceed the daily bag limit for pheasant provided herein: no more than two (2) birds may be harvested on the site during any day per hunter.

f. If a permittee is found to have provided false information in conjunction with its application, fails to comply with any provision or if it or a member or guest violates any provision, the permit shall be revoked for the remainder of the season and the action of the permittee or its member shall be considered if and when the permittee applies for re-issuance of a permit. Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7, a permittee who feels aggrieved by an enforcement action to revoke the subject’s permit and who seeks an adjudicative hearing must seek such hearing by filing a written request with the Administrative Adjudication Division, One Capitol Hill, 4th Floor, Providence, RI 02908 within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of notice of revocation. A permittee who feels aggrieved by a permit denial and seeks an Adjudicative hearing must seek such hearing by filing a written request with the Administrative Adjudication Division, One Capitol Hill, 4th Floor, Providence, RI 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action.

F. The hunting seasons on woodchuck (Marmota monax), crow, house sparrow (Passer domesticus), European starling (Sturnus vulgaris), and rock dove (Columba livia) is open on Prudence Island November 1 through November 30. In addition, crows may be hunted on North Prudence during the month of January on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays only. Patience Island and South Prudence are closed to upland game hunting.

G. Methods of Take for small game hunting include rimfire rifle not larger than .22 caliber, shotgun, bow and arrow, muzzleloader, crossbow, and air rifle.

1. Hunters may use shotgun with bird shot (not larger than No. 2) and a rimfire rifle cartridge not larger than .22 caliber, bow and arrow, muzzleloader, and air rifle.

2. A muzzleloader, not to exceed .40 caliber, may be used to hunt small mammals during the established season for these species.

3. Air rifles are permitted to hunt the following small mammals: gray squirrel, red squirrel, woodchuck, and cottontail rabbit provided that the air rifles are a minimum of .177 caliber and not larger than .22; a minimum of 750 FPS velocity with pellets 7.5 grain or larger.

4. Hunters may use archery equipment meeting the minimum draw weight required for deer hunting with arrows tipped with small game blunts or judo points, but specifically not use broadhead or field point arrows, except hunters may use broadhead tipped arrows for hunting coyote only during the archery deer season when in possession of a valid archery deer tag. Hunters may carry one (1) blunt or judo tipped arrow during the archery deer season for the purpose of taking small game during the open portion of the small game season.

5. Hunters may use crossbow to take small game mammals; however, no birds may be taken with a crossbow. See R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-14-7(d).

6. Hunters using archery equipment including crossbow to take small game must have taken and successfully completed a bow hunter education course.

H. Methods of Take for upland game bird hunting include shotgun and bow and arrow.

1. Hunters may use shotgun with bird shot (not larger than No. 2).

2. Hunters may use archery equipment meeting the minimum draw weight required for deer hunting with arrows tipped with small game blunts or judo points, but specifically not use broadhead or field point arrows.

3. No birds may be taken with a crossbow. See R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-14-7(d).

4. Hunters using archery equipment for upland game birds must have taken and successfully completed a bow hunter education course.

I. There is no closed season for woodchuck, red squirrel or coyote on private lands. The legal shooting hours for coyote is 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset. The use of electronic calls or decoys for hunting coyote is permitted. The bag limit on woodchuck, red squirrel, or coyote is unlimited. Refer to R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-13-13 for firearms restrictions.

J. The hunting season for coyote on state lands shall be from September 15 to the last day in February inclusive and during the open spring turkey hunting season. The hunting season for coyote on Prudence and Patience Islands shall be: on state land during archery season with a valid archery deer permit, during the small game season on private land, November 1 - November 30, and on North Prudence during small game season, during the month of January.

K. During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a valid turkey permit while hunting on state lands.

L. Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200 square inches of fluorescent orange from the 3rd Saturday in October to the last day of February. During the shotgun deer season, five hundred (500) square inches is required.

M. The placement or use of carcasses or meat parts thereof is allowed on private property for the purposes of hunting coyote. The placement or use of carcasses or meat parts thereof is prohibited for purposes of hunting coyote on state lands.

N. Legal methods of take for coyote hunting include shotgun (no lead shot larger than No. 2) and rimfire rifle not larger than .22 caliber at any time, bow and arrow, and crossbow; however, on private lands from April 1 to September 30, (both dates inclusive), centerfire rifles not larger than .229 caliber may be used (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-13-13), and any means allowed during any concurrent hunting season.

O. The open season for raccoon (Procyon lotor) hunting is from 6:00 PM October 1 through the last day in February, inclusive.

1. The daily bag limit on raccoon is unlimited. Bow hunters with a valid deer archery hunting permit may take raccoon during legal deer shooting hours beginning on the first day of October and ending on the last day of January.

a. On Prudence and Patience Islands, the hunting season is limited to the first day of January through the last day of February, inclusive, with written permission of the landowner. Bow hunters with a valid deer archery permit may take a raccoon on Prudence and Patience Islands during legal deer shooting hours beginning on the first day of November and ending on the last day of January.

2. Raccoons may be taken and possessed with the use of a gun, when the taker is accompanied by a dog. No person shall hunt raccoons at night by the use of a rifle larger than a twenty-two (.22) caliber rim fire long rifle or by the use of shotgun shells carrying shot larger than number four (no. 4) shot or by the use of a light other than a kerosene lantern exclusive of the pressure type or a flashlight with more than six (6) cells. No person shall take or attempt to take raccoons by use of a light from a motor vehicle.

9.13 Wild Turkey (Meleagris gallopavo)

A. Turkey Seasons Dates:

1. Paraplegic Spring Turkey Season: The full weekend (Saturday / Sunday) prior to the Thursday Statewide Spring Turkey Season opener.

2. Youth Turkey Season: The full weekend (Saturday / Sunday) prior to the Thursday Statewide Spring Turkey Season opener.

3. Statewide Spring Turkey Season: The last Thursday of April extending twenty-five (25) days, inclusive of the Thursday opener.

4. Fall Archery Turkey Season: October 1 to October 14.

B. The season bag limit and possession limit is two (2) bearded turkeys for the spring season.

1. No more than one (1) turkey may be taken on state lands.

C. The season bag limit and possession limit is one (1) either sex turkey for the fall archery season.

D. A separate turkey permit must be purchased to hunt in each season.

1. Spring Season: A hunter may purchase, possess and use one (1) all lands turkey permit and one (1) private land only turkey permit for the taking of one (1) bearded turkey on each permit.

a. Hunters may take two (2) turkeys on the same day or one (1) each on separate days provided they purchase two (2) spring turkey permits and at least one (1) turkey is taken on private property.

2. Fall Season: A hunter may purchase, possess and use one (1) fall either sex archery turkey permit, valid on both state and private property.

E. Paraplegic Spring Turkey Season:

1. Spring Turkey Permit Required.

2. Hunting in this season will be limited to paraplegic hunters only as evidenced by possession of a permanent disability hunting license.

3. A first-time hunter must make application for a permanent disability hunting license as prescribed by the DEM.

4. None of the hunter’s assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry firearms at any time.

5. Bag limit is two (2) wild turkeys as described in § 9.13(D)(1) of this Part.

F. Youth Turkey Season:

1. Wild Turkey hunting is permitted during the special Youth Turkey Hunting Weekend for those hunters 12 - 15 years of age.

2. Youth hunters must possess a Spring Turkey permit.

3. Junior hunters (ages 12 - 14) as defined in § 9.6 of this Part, in possession of a valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting License must be accompanied by at least (1) one qualified licensed adult, age 21 years or older, who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting license.

4. An adult may accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time.

5. The accompanying adult is prohibited from carrying a firearm and hunting wild turkey

6. Youth hunters age 15 do not have to hunt in the immediate company of a licensed adult.

7. Bag limit is two (2) wild turkeys as described in § 9.13(D)(1) of this Part.

G. The hunting of wild turkey is permitted statewide.

H. Shooting hours:

1. Spring season shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1:00 PM Eastern Daylight Time. All hunters must leave the woods no later than 1:00 PM.

2. Fall season shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset.

I. Authorized firearms and archery equipment: The methods of taking are limited to shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only, with shot sizes 4, 5, 6 and 7 magnum turkey loads only; and by archery equipment except for crossbows.

1. Long bow, re-curve bow and compound bow must be set at not less than forty (40) pounds for archers using fixed blade broadheads, and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using a mechanical broadheads.

2. Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) metal cutting edges are allowed. All broadheads must be seven eighths (7/8) of an inch or greater at the widest point including mechanical broadheads measured in the “open” position.

3. Only one (1) firearm or archery implement may be possessed in the field per individual hunter, while hunting wild turkey.

4. Possession of a firearm while hunting for turkey during the fall archery season is prohibited.

5. Hunters using archery equipment to take wild turkey must have taken and successfully completed a bow hunter education course. Crossbows are a prohibited method of taking wild turkey. See § 9.13(M) of this Part.

J. Tagging Requirements: A person killing a wild turkey must immediately notch the month, day and hour of kill on the printed paper tag. The carcass and notched tag must remain in the possession of the hunter after the kill and while removing the carcass from the field. Should the hunter leave the carcass prior to removal from the field, the notched tag must be attached to and remain with the carcass. After removal from the field, the notched tag must be attached to and remain with the carcass until the carcass is prepared for consumption or taxidermy.

K. Checking Requirements: The killing of a wild turkey must be reported to DEM as prescribed by the DEM by 11:59 pm on the date of the kill. A confirmation number will be issued and must be recorded on the notched tag. The notched tag with confirmation number must remain attached to the carcass until prepared for consumption or taxidermy.

L. The Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues deemed necessary.

M. Prohibited Activities:

1. The use of any unauthorized firearm, live decoy(s), baiting, cooperative drive(s), electric calling devices, or any other devices to capture or ensnare turkeys is prohibited.

2. Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot is prohibited.

3. Hunters are prohibited from hunting unless they have a turkey calling device (non-electric) in their possession. Calling is the only legal method for hunting wild turkey. An individual with a valid Rhode Island hunting license may call turkeys for another hunter that possesses a valid turkey permit.

4. No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot, attempt to shoot, or possess any wild turkey unless they possess on their person a valid R.I. hunting license and a valid turkey hunting permit.

5. The shooting of any wild turkey while on the roost is prohibited.

6. Crossbows are prohibited for turkey hunting.

9.14 Furbearer Trapping

A. A current Rhode Island Trapping License is required to trap furbearers.

B. Furbearers are those species listed by R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-16-1.

C. The trapping season for gray fox, red fox, mink (Neovison vison), muskrat (Ondatra zibethicus), opossum (Didelphis virginiana), cottontail rabbit, raccoon, skunk (Mephitis mephitis), and weasel (Mustela spp.) is from the first day in November to the last day in January, inclusive.

1. Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to sunrise on opening day.

2. All traps must be removed by the last day of the season.

D. Beaver (Castor canadensis) - The trapping season on private land is November 1 to March 14, inclusive. The trapping season for beaver on state Management Areas is December 1 to last day of February inclusive.

1. Bag Limit - The season bag limit is twenty (20) beaver.

a. All beaver pelts must be presented for tagging, in accordance with beaver permit requirements and as prescribed by the DEM.

2. All trappers participating in beaver trapping must first obtain both a Special Beaver Trapping Permit (no fee) as well as a current Rhode Island Trapping License as prescribed by the DEM.

3. Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to sunrise on opening day.

4. Setting traps within ten (10) feet of a beaver lodge/bank den is prohibited, unless specifically allowed under a nuisance permit

E. Fisher (Martes pennanti) - The trapping season is December 1 to 24, inclusive.

1. Bag Limit - The season bag limit is four (4) fisher.

a. All fisher pelts must be presented for tagging, in accordance with fisher permit requirements as prescribed by the DEM.

b. In addition, all fisher carcasses or any part thereof, as determined by the Division, must be turned in to the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife.

c. No fisher pelts will be tagged without the submission of the carcass or required parts to the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

2. All trappers participating in the fisher trapping must first obtain both a Special Fisher Trapping Permit (no fee) as well as a current Rhode Island Trapping License as prescribed by the DEM.

3. A trapping log must be completed as prescribed by the DEM and must be returned to the Division of Fish and Wildlife at the close of fisher season.

a. Failure to submit the trapping log will result in denial of permit until the completed log is received.

4. The Division of Fish and Wildlife reserves the right to alter the number of permits or the number of fishers harvested at any time.

5. All permittees may be subject to administrative penalties of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for violation of any of these regulations pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.6.

F. Coyote - There is no closed season for trapping on private lands. The trapping season on state lands is November 1 to January 31 inclusive.

1. The daily bag limit for coyote is unlimited.

2. The use of foothold traps (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-16-8) or snares (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-16-6) is prohibited. All other general trapping regulations apply.

G. Body gripping (“e.g. Conibear”) type traps with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding six and one half (6.5)inches as measured from hinge to hinge, are permitted on land or in water. Body gripping traps with a jaw spread larger than six and one half (6.5) inches but not exceeding eight (8) inches are permitted only if the trap is completely submerged in water in a vertical position, or placed at least six (6) feet above the surface of water or ground (i.e., pole or tree sets). All other body-gripping type traps with a jaw spread exceeding eight (8) inches are prohibited.

1. For the taking of beaver, the use of body-gripping (“e.g. Conibear”) type traps with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding ten (10) inches as measured from hinge to hinge is permitted. Such traps must be set completely submerged underwater and in a vertical position.

H. State Lands Trapping - Permit Required.

1. The use of body-gripping (“e.g. Conibear”) type traps or “box” (i.e., live) traps are permitted on state lands as specified. Body-gripping traps, with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 6.5 inches as measured from hinge to hinge are permitted only if such traps are used in sets where all or a portion of the trap is in contact with or submerged in water or placed no less than six (6) feet above the surface of the ground. The use of body gripping traps with a jaw spread exceeding 6.5 inches but not more than ten (10) inches are only permitted if such traps are set completely submerged in water in a vertical position.

I. All traps must have the valid license number of the trapper embedded or cut into the trap, or a metal tag attached to the trap which, as a minimum, bears the trapper’s license number as designated in R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-16-7.

J. There is no open season on bobcat (Lynx rufus) or river otter (Lontra canadensis).

K. Possession, at any time, of a pelt or carcass of an otter, fisher, bobcat, or beaver that has not been tagged by an approved state or federal agency is prima-facie evidence of illegal taking. Otter or bobcat taken under R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 20-16-2, 20-16-8 or otherwise, shall not be tagged for personal use or ownership and must be presented to the Division of Fish and Wildlife or the Division of Law Enforcement within twenty-four (24) hours of taking.

L. It is unlawful to take or possess a road-killed furbearer (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-16-1) unless with possession of a current Rhode Island trapping license and the furbearer is taken during the open season for the species, or as provided for under the provisions of a current Rhode Island Scientific Collector’s Permit (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-1-18). Exceptions may be granted at the discretion of the Division.

M. The translocation of protected furbearers (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-16-1) is prohibited without prior written approval of the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

N. The use of “species specific” type traps as described in § 9.6 of this Part, is permitted for trapping furbearers on private and state lands. A legal species specific trap is characterized by all of the following:

1. Triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing.

2. Triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a single opening when set;

3. The access opening does not exceed two inches in diameter;

4. The triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force.

5. A swivel mounted anchoring system.

O. The use of deadfalls, pitfalls, fish hooks, treble hooks, or other similarly sharpened instruments to catch, capture, or injure furbearers is prohibited.

9.15 Reptiles and Amphibians

A. The possession, removal or take from the wild, for any purpose, of any reptile or amphibian (except bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeianus), green frog (Lithobates calmitans), and snapping turtle (Chelydra serpentine)) to include their nests and eggs is prohibited except by special permit.

1. The taking of snapping turtles is restricted to turtles with a minimum carapace length of twelve (12) inches.

2. Snapping turtles with a carapace length less than twelve (12) inches shall be immediately released alive into the waters from which it was taken.

3. Legal snapping turtles shall be immediately killed and reduced to possession.

4. Take is only by the following methods: turtle traps, snagging, snaring, grabbing, jugging, bow and arrow, or while legally fishing. Turtle traps must have a metal tag attached, which, at a minimum, bears the trapper’s name and address. Jugs must be marked indelibly with name and address of trapper. The taking of snapping turtles for commercial purposes is prohibited except by special permit.

B. The following species of reptiles and amphibians to include their nests and eggs are protected and possession without permit is prohibited at all times: eastern American toad (Anaxyrus americanus); eastern red-backed salamander (Plethodon cinereus); eastern spadefoot (Scaphiopus holbrookii); four-toed salamander (Hemidactylium scutatum); Fowler’s toad (Anaxyrus fowleri); gray treefrog (Hyla versicolor); marbled salamander (Ambystoma opacum); northern dusky salamander (Desmognathus fuscus); northern leopard frog (Lithobates pipiens); northern spring salamander (Gyrinophilus porphyriticus porphyriticus); northern two-lined salamander (Eurycea bislineata); pickerel frog (Lithobates palustris); red-spotted newt (Notophthalmus viridescens viridescens); spotted salamander (Ambystoma maculatum); spring peeper (Pseudacris crucifer); wood frog (Lithobates sylvatica); eastern box turtle (Terrapene carolina carolina); eastern musk turtle (Sternotherus odoratus); eastern painted turtle (Chrysemys picta picta); northern diamond-backed terrapin (Malaclemys terrapin terrapin); spotted turtle (Clemmys guttata); wood turtle (Glyptemys insculpta); common ribbonsnake (Thamnophis sauritus sauritus); common watersnake (Nerodia sipedon sipedon); eastern gartersnake (Thamnophis sirtalis sirtalis); eastern hog-nosed snake (Heterodon platirhinos); eastern milksnake (Lampropeltis triangulum triangulum); eastern ratsnake (Pantherophis alleghaniensis); eastern wormsnake (Carphophis amoenus amoenus); northern black racer (Coluber constrictor constrictor); northern brownsnake (Storeria dekayi dekayi); northern red-bellied snake (Storeria occipitomaculata occipitomaculata); northern ring-necked snake (Diadophis punctatus edwardsii); smooth greensnake (Opheodrys vernalis); timber rattlesnake (Crotalus horridus).

C. The release into the wild of any non-native reptile or amphibian is prohibited.

9.16 Management Areas

A. The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination hunting and fishing license, serves as the permit to hunt public reservations and undeveloped state parks where hunting is allowed, and Tidal Lands pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 20-18-2 and 20-18-3.

B. Possession of a firearm or archery equipment is prohibited on public reservations, unless the person is duly licensed to hunt, is engaged in authorized hunting activity and is in possession of a firearm or archery equipment authorized pursuant to the governing Department of Environmental Management Hunting Regulations for the specific hunting activity in which the person is engaged or unless the person otherwise satisfies the requirements of Park and Management Area Regulations, § 100-00-1.17 of this Title.

C. Hunters must check in and out of State Management Area hunter check stations and present all small game harvested for inspection each day they are open during the upland game season when pursuing small game as prescribed by the DEM. Check station dates will be listed in the current Hunting Season Abstract.

1. At the discretion of the Division of Fish and Wildlife, management areas may be closed to pheasant hunting for pheasant stocking at noon until sunset on Tuesdays and Fridays from the Friday prior to the third Saturday in October through the Friday prior to Thanksgiving Day; the Wednesday before Thanksgiving Day; and Fridays in December.

D. From the period April 1st through August 15th, annually, the following areas are closed to entry: Dyer Island, Hope Island and Gould Island. During this time period, no person is allowed to enter these areas without official written permission from the Director. During this time period, disturbing or molesting any nesting birds at these areas is prohibited.

1. All cats, dogs, and or other domestic animals are prohibited at all times at Dutch Island, Dyer Island, Gould Island, Hope Island, and Patience Island; except that hunting dogs may be used at Hope Island while hunting small game or migratory birds only during the open seasons set by the Department, and hunting dogs maybe be used at Patience and Dyer Islands while hunting waterfowl only during the open seasons set by the Department.

E. No person shall engage in any activity that interferes with or interrupts lawful hunting or trapping on a public reservation.

F. All users of State Management Areas and undeveloped State Parks are required to wear solid daylight fluorescent orange during appropriate seasons.

G. A hunting license is required when training dogs on wild game on state management areas, except when participating in state-sanctioned field trials.

H. Complete dressing of game birds and mammals on state property is prohibited. Field dressing (removal of entrails only) is permitted. Head, skin, feathers, wings, tails, etc., must remain attached to the carcass.

I. Sapowet Marsh and Eight Rod Farm Management Area: Sunday hunting is permitted within the Sapowet Marsh and Eight Rod Farm Management Area. No shotgun or muzzleloader deer hunting at Sapowet Marsh Management Area.

J. George Washington Grove: Designated as an undeveloped State Park and is open to hunting.

K. Galilee Bird Sanctuary: Deer hunting is limited to archery only.

L. Snake Den State Park: Designated as an undeveloped State Park and is open for archery deer hunting. All hunting must be within the boundaries marked by the Department.

M. Cocumcussoc State Park: Designated as an undeveloped State Park and is open to hunting deer, turkey and small game.

N. South Shore Management Area (SSMA) Goose Hunting Cooperative: Designated as a goose hunting area. SSMA is composed of state owned Fields 3, 4, 5 and 6, Federally owned Field 1 and South Kingstown Land Trust owned Field 2. Hunting in addition to geese is allowed as outlined below:

1. Permits:

a. Permit required for goose hunting during the Regular Goose Season. See abstract for details.

b. SSMA permits must be carried while waterfowl hunting on the SSMA and must be shown to any DEM Environmental Police Officer or Division of Fish and Wildlife employee upon request.

c. All party members must have a permit and must be registered when reserving and hunting a field.

d. No hunting party shall exceed four (4) hunters.

e. Permittees may only hunt in the field reserved for their party.

2. Reservations required as prescribed by the DEM.

a. The Division reserves the right to close some fields for periods of time in an effort to relieve the field(s) from hunting pressure and improve hunting opportunities.

3. Blinds:

a. Portable blinds, nets, tarps, or similar forms of concealment are permitted. The use of natural vegetation to build blinds is also permitted, however removal of stones from walls or vegetation from hedgerows is prohibited.

b. Pit Blinds: Pits may not be dug. Pit blinds are available in state- owned Fields (3, 4, 5, and 6) and Federally-owned Field 1.

c. Handicapped accessible blind is located in Field #5.

4. Decoys: A minimum of twenty-four (24) life size or oversize goose decoys are required on premises; however, hunters may choose to use fewer decoys while hunting.

5. Harvest Report: A harvest record log must be completed and returned whether or not you hunted and regardless of success as prescribed by the DEM.

a. Failure to submit the harvest report log by March 1 following the close of the season may result in the loss of hunting privileges at the SSMA for the following season.

6. Shot:

a. No person shall take waterfowl while possessing shells loaded with any shot other than steel shot, or other legally approved non-toxic shot as described in § 9.11(L) of this Part.

b. Non-toxic shot larger than BB is prohibited, including duplex loads containing shot larger than BB.

7. Vehicles:

a. Vehicles may park in designated areas only.

b. Overnight parking is prohibited in designated areas.

c. Vehicles may not drive into or along the edge of any field for any reason. Except in an emergency, e.g., accident or injury or as provided in § 9.16(N)(8)(b) of this Part.

8. Accessibility program for waterfowl hunters who are handicapped:

a. Upon request, Field #5 will have an accessible above-ground blind. The blind will be established by the Division in either a hedgerow or within standing crop rows (i.e., standing corn).

b. Vehicles may be driven into the field to transport a handicapped hunter and their equipment only when field conditions are conducive (i.e., not during and after heavy rain when the field conditions are very muddy).

c. Goose hunters applying for the accessibility program must provide a statement signed by a medical doctor stating that the handicap meets the following definition: a person temporarily or permanently handicapped (i.e., unable to walk without the assistance of crutches or wheelchair or with a chronic medical condition).

d. All regulations for hunting geese in the SSMA shall apply.

9. Prohibited: The following are prohibited: littering; fires; destruction of fencing, equipment, farm property, or standing crops; possession or use of alcoholic beverages; shooting within 500 feet of an occupied building; shooting near or otherwise disturbing persons working in the area; urinating or defecating in pit blinds.

10. Additional Hunting Regulations:

a. Dove hunting is allowed in Fields 1, 3, 5, and 6 during the early mourning dove season. Doves may be taken by permitted goose hunters while goose hunting when the field reservation system is in place during the open mourning dove season. Possession of lead shot for taking doves when goose hunting is prohibited.

b. Upland game hunting is allowed only in Fields 5 and 6 during the upland game season except during the regular Canada goose season.

c. All upland game hunting is prohibited during regular Canada goose season, including during Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days (last full weekend in October, Saturday / Sunday).

d. Deer hunting during the archery season is allowed only in the wooded portions of Fields 3, 5, and 6 throughout the archery season, including during the regular Canada goose season when the field reservation system is occurring.

e. Deer hunting during the muzzleloader season is allowed only in the wooded portions of Field 5 and 6, except during the regular Canada goose season when the field reservation system is occurring.

f. Deer hunting during shotgun season is allowed only in Field 6 and its wooded portions, except during the regular Canada goose season.

g. Waterfowl hunting is allowed outside of the regular Canada goose season but within legal waterfowl seasons without special hunting permits, reservations, or decoy restrictions, once fields are harvested.

h. The taking of ducks during the legal duck seasons is permitted while goose hunting under the aforementioned regulations.

11. Violations of any aforementioned regulations, state management area regulations, and/or any state or federal hunting laws will result in loss of hunting privileges on the SSMA for a period of one year, beginning from the date of the violation.

9.17 General

A. Taking of moose (Alces alces), black bear (Ursus americanus), bobcat, or any other species for which there is no promulgated season by any method is prohibited except as provided under special permit issued by the Director of the Department of Environmental Management.

B. The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, rehabilitation or sale, offer for sale, barter, or offer for barter of mute swans and their eggs is prohibited, except by special permit issued by the Director of the Department of Environmental Management or his/her designee.

C. The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, or sale, offer for sale, barter, or offer for barter of any live or pen-reared wild turkey or eggs of a wild turkey is prohibited. The possession of any dead untagged wild turkey is prohibited.

D. Wanton Waste - No person shall kill or cripple any game species pursuant to these regulations without making a reasonable effort to retrieve the animal, and retain it in his/her actual custody.

E. There is no closed season for monk parakeets (Myiopsitta monachus) or rock dove (pigeon).

F. Fluorescent orange requirement: fluorescent orange safety clothing is required during the hunting season statewide for all hunters. To meet this requirement, safety clothing must be solid daylight fluorescent orange. Fluorescent camouflage does not meet this requirement. The orange must be worn above the waist and be visible in all directions. Examples that meet the orange requirements are a hat that covers 200 square inches or combination of hat and vest covering 500 square inches. The following orange requirements apply:

1. Two hundred (200) square inches by small game hunters during the small game season.

2. Two hundred (200) square inches by fall turkey hunters while traveling.

3. Two hundred (200) square inches by muzzleloader deer hunters during muzzleloader deer season.

4. Two hundred (200) square inches by archery deer hunters when traveling to / from an elevated stand during the muzzleloader deer season. Once in an elevated stand, archery deer hunters are exempt from the orange requirement during the muzzleloader deer season.

5. Five hundred (500) square inches by all hunters and other users (including archers) during shotgun deer seasons.

6. Those hunters using pop-up blinds during the firearms deer season must display 200 square inches of fluorescent orange visible on the outside of the blind from all directions. Hunters must also wear orange in accordance with the rules for the specific seasons while in the blind.

7. Exempt from fluorescent orange requirements are:

a. Waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or blind, over water or field, when done in conjunction with decoys.

b. Archery deer hunters (except during muzzleloader and shotgun deer season).

c. Hunters crow hunting over decoys.

d. Spring turkey hunters.

e. First segment mourning dove hunters.

f. Archery deer hunters in areas limited to Archery only by regulation.

g. Raccoon hunters when hunting at night.

G. Waterfowl hunting is permitted no more than 10 feet above mean high water on Prudence Island, except during the early waterfowl season, as established by federal regulation and during November 1 - 30.

H. Shooting at any animal at any time, while such animal is on a telephone line, pole, or tower, or electric line, pole, or tower, or any communication device is prohibited.

I. It is prohibited to import or possess game birds for the purpose of liberation or stocking of said game birds into the State of Rhode Island without first having received a permit to do so from the Department. Persons holding a commercial game propagation license or shooting preserve license may liberate game birds or mammals in connection with field trials and shooting preserves (see R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 20-2-16.1, 20-2-29, and 20-17-1).

J. Feeding and baiting wildlife in the state of Rhode Island is not permitted at any time for any purposes except:

1. Under a license or permit issued by the Department pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-1-18 for bona fide scientific research;

2. By planting, cultivating, or harvesting of crops directly associated with bona fide agricultural practices, including planted wildlife food plots;

3. By distribution of food material for livestock directly associated with bona fide agricultural practices; by distribution of food material for legally possessed captive wildlife, pursuant to a permit;

4. By cutting of trees or brush; or

5. Elevated bird/squirrel feeders providing seed, grain, fruit, worms or suet for birds or squirrels located within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling.

6. The placement or use of carcasses or meat parts thereof is allowed on private property for the purposes of hunting coyotes. The placement or use of carcasses or meat parts thereof is prohibited for purposes of hunting coyotes on state lands.

7. The leaving out of food of any kind where accessible to wildlife is prohibited.

8. For baiting of furbearers as associated with legal trapping activities in accordance with these regulations.

K. Feeding wild or captive cervids with any material that contains protein derived from any mammalian tissues is prohibited.

L. It is unlawful to carry a loaded firearm, or archery equipment with a nocked arrow, outside legal shooting hours. Provided the hunter is stationary, his/her firearm or archery equipment may be loaded no more than fifteen (15) minutes before the start of legal shooting hours. Firearms and archery equipment must be unloaded immediately at the end of legal shooting hours.

M. The use of drones or other remotely operated unmanned aircraft systems and devices to drive or disturb wildlife or aid in the take of wildlife for the purpose of hunting is prohibited.

N. All hunters must have taken and successfully completed a bow hunter education class to hunt with archery equipment.

9.18 Special Regulation - State Waterfowl Stamp

A. All waterfowl hunters sixteen (16) years of age and older are required by law to purchase a Rhode Island State Waterfowl stamp as well as a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp.

B. Annual State Waterfowl stamps shall be available at the price of Seven Dollars and Fifty Cents ($7.50) per stamp at participating vendors (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-2-37).

1. State waterfowl stamp certifications issued through the web-based online licensing system need not be signed.

2. Physical stamps obtained from the Division of Fish and Wildlife must be signed by the hunter across the face of the stamp and carried at all times when hunting.

9.19 Effective Date

The foregoing Rules and Regulations - Hunting Regulations after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State to become effective 20 days after filing, in accordance with the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws Chapters 42-17.1; 20-15 and 20-18 and §§ 20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-1-8, 20-1-12, 20-1-13, 20-2-35, 20-18, 20.2-37 and 42-35, as amended.

Title 250 Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Chapter 60 Fish and Wildlife
Subchapter 00 N/A
Part 9 Hunting and Trapping Regulations for the 2018-2019 and 2019-2020 Seasons (250-RICR-60-00-9)
Type of Filing Technical Revision
Regulation Status Active
Effective 07/31/2018

Regulation Authority :

R.I. Gen. Laws Chapters 42-17.1; 20-15 and 20-18, §§ 20-1-2; 20-1-4; 20-1-8; 20-1-12; 20-1-13; 20-2-35, 20-2-37 and 1-8-1, and in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-35

Purpose and Reason :

This Technical Revision is being promulgated to correct a typo which omitted the Section number for Section 9.6 Definitions. The section has now been numbered. No substantive change was made to this rule.

There are no electronic rulemaking documents for rules filed prior to August 14, 2018. For rulemaking documents for rules filed prior to this date, please contact the appropriate agency's Rules Coordinator.