Rules and Regulations for the Grading of Honey (250-RICR-40-20-4)


4.1 Purpose

Grading of Honey

4.2 Statutory Authority

R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-17.1-2.

4.3 Applicability

The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed to permit the Department to effectuate the purpose of state law, goals, and policies for the grading of Honey in the State of Rhode Island.

4.4 Definitions

Rhode Island Fancy Grade Honey shall be honey that is produced in Rhode Island and is free from overheating, fermentation, honey-dew pollen, objectionable flavor from floral source or paint or smoke, carbolic acid or other foreign flavor, odor or dirt.

4.5 Procedures Grading of Honey

A. Such honey shall not weigh less than twelve (12) pounds per gallon at 60 degrees Fahrenheit or the density of which shall not be less than 41.5 degrees Baume or 76.4 degrees Brix at 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

B. The color of such honey may be any standard color as measured by the official.

C. U.S. color grader varying from water-white to dark. The honey shall be clean as though strained through an 86-mesh bolting cloth at not over 140 degrees Fahrenheit and shall be sold or offered for sale in strong, clean containers that are new in appearance.

D. Tolerance: In order to allow for variations incident to proper grading and handling, not more than 5% by count of any lot of honey may be below the requirements for the grade but no part of this tolerance shall be allowed for defects causing serious damage.

4.6 Liability

When the Commissioner of Agriculture becomes cognizant of any violations of these regulations he shall cause notice of such violation, together with a copy of the findings, to be given to the person or persons concerned. Persons so notified shall be given a hearing under rules and regulations prescribed by the Commissioner. Notices of such hearing shall specify the date, hour and place of hearing.

4.7 Violations - Penalties

A. Any person, firm or corporation who shall misbrand or mislabel any package or other container of honey or who shall violate any rule or regulations passed by said board providing for branding and labeling shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) or more than one hundred dollars ($100) or be imprisoned for a term of three months or by both such fine and imprisonment.

B. These rules and regulations may be amended from time to time.

Title 250 Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Chapter 40 Agriculture and Resource Marketing
Subchapter 20 Marketing
Part 4 Rules and Regulations for the Grading of Honey (250-RICR-40-20-4)
Type of Filing Technical Revision
Regulation Status Inactive
Effective 12/31/2001 to 01/04/2022

Regulation Authority:

R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-17.1-2

Purpose and Reason:

This Technical Revision being promulgated to reformat the rule into the RICR format for the Rhode Island Administrative Code. There are no substantive changes.